A Heartflake


As I was looking through this Kirigami book by Jeffrey Rutzky I decided to try making the heartflake since this is the month of February.

heart-1

heart-14

heart-11

According to the book this is an adaptation of a design by Cindy Higham. It starts off with a starburst fold and now I will try to take you through the steps to make this heartflake. Goodluck. 🙂

heart-2

I should have erased the 6 inch markings but since I did not, just ignore them for the rest of the time.
heart-3

Fold to the right along the dotted line.
heart-4

And then fold the same flap back, in half.
heart-5

Now fold the far right bottom up the the left along side the crease.
heart-6

Then fold the same flap back, in half the other way.
heart-7

heart-8

Draw out the red pattern onto your starburst fold and cut the white parts away.
heart-9

I used scrapbook paper which was a little too thick so all of my folds didn’t quite reach as far as they should have so two of my corners were squared off instead of pointy but that is no big deal.
heart-10

heart-12

heart-13

heart-15

heart-16

heart-17

heart-18

9 responses to “A Heartflake

  1. How very clever you are..and they are so beautiful. I might have a try

  2. Perfect for Valentine’s Day with all those hearts.

  3. How pretty! I like the pages you set them on.

  4. Fascinating … must try this!!! Going to reblog your post Linda! What a bonus for those of us out here that want to do something creative and unique for that special loved one! Thanks.

Comments are welcomed

