Gone in the Blink of an Eye


I took this photograph of this precious baby bird this morning. This was his first day out of the nest. I was so happy to see him so beautiful and new. So full of cuteness. I was thinking about how I would have to keep an eye on the dogs and the cat to keep them from getting to him when he jumped down to the ground. Hoping that he would last for the week that I am home again from my parents house. Now he or she is gone, just gone.

baby-bird

We were going to have a storm and it had started raining very hard so I grabbed my binoculars to see if the baby was under covering that is over the bird house. Well to my horrible dismay there was a snake there instead!!!! That was about the last straw for me. I just lost it. My neighbor came in the pouring rain and killed the snake for me. He said that it didn’t eat the bird but I can’t find it anywhere and the parents have left the nest. When it was all happening they were screaming and flapping about. It was such a sad, horrible sight to see. The poor baby is just gone in the blink of any eye.

2 responses to “Gone in the Blink of an Eye

  1. I’m so sorry Linda! I am hoping he found shelter from the storm. What a beautiful photo that you captured of him. Talk about catching a single moment in time! Wherever he is, thanks to you, his beauty will be seen and appreciated by many more people than he would have in the great big wide world.

Comments are welcomed

