Goodwill Treasure


I came across this beautifully framed Jennie Brownscombe after etching by Jas. S. King.  Sunday Morning in Sleepy Hollow in Goodwill a few weeks ago for only $30.00!   The print alone is worth that much. My parents already have The Berry Pickers so this will make a nice addition to their home.  Now I think I might have the collecting bug. I know that I have seen these at Goodwill before so I will be on the lookout for them. I would love to find The First Thanksgiving. Jennie’s work is reminiscent of Normal Rockwell. Below you will find a link to Wayne County Historical Society in Honesdale PA with more information about her.

http://www.waynehistorypa.org/exhibits/brownscombe.php

If you google Jennie Brownscombe and click on images you can see many more of her beautiful paintings. It’s a style that I would have never thought of owning but now after it has been sitting in my house waiting to go to my parents I have become quite attached to it.

8 responses to “Goodwill Treasure

  1. Treasure Hunts are such fun . . . especially when you double the pleasure by giving your finds away. 😀

    • Too be able to actually find something that my parents can use or would like is a pleasure.

      • wow that’s great! actually the one in my article is pretty much available for purchase already framed and matted if you are interested. My parents recently purchased a print of a painting done from a photo taken in Paris by a friend of theirs. It replaced their first Jennie Brownscombe print. They don’t like a lot of clutter so there really isn’t a place for the one that I bought so now I need to sell it. So glad that I could be of encouragement to you. I actually had some useful information for someone!!!!

  2. Your comments helped me decide to purchase Jennie Brownscombe’s, Sunday Morning in Sleepy Hollow today while I was shopping at a Goodwill! It too is from a Jas. S. King etching. It caught my eye, and after googling to learn about artist, I decided it was too good a find to pass up. It will have to be re-matted and re-framed, which may detract from its value.

    • I found “Sunday Morning in Sleepy hollow” and Berry Pickers at an antique/vintage thrift store. The frames are identical to what I have seen on this site. Were these prints limited run? I bought both and enjoy them along with “Breezing Up” in my livingroom.

  3. I was trying to get some info on this print and ran across your article. I bought a framed and matted print of Sunday mornings in sleepy hollow at an estate yard sale for $5.00 this morning. Saw where one had just sold on ebay for 250 framed and matted the same way as the one I bought. Needless to say it is now hanging on my wall.

Comments are welcomed

