My First Watercolor


So much fun! Lots of mistakes. I always like to jump in first and then learn more later. So any constructive comments from real painters are welcome. I know I have always had a problem with perspective. I have never taken the time to study it and it doesn’t come naturally to me.

4 responses to “My First Watercolor

  1. I like how you’ve divided the page and I think the colors you have used are very calming and very close in value, which adds to the calming effect. Somewhat hypnotic how the water sways back and then the tree comes back out at the top toward the other center. You do have that one bold mark down in the bottom center of the page. It’s value is very different from the rest of the colors in your painting. It’s a kind of emphasis that you can use to help the viewer find different paths through your painting.

  2. I hadn’t thought about that dark green like that. Interesting. Thanks.

  3. I think it’s charming. It makes me want to get out my paints and play.

Comments are welcomed

