The Journey to Reclaim Godly Femininity Part II


I am once again sharing what Brittany from The Gentle Home has written about Godly femininity.

The Journey to Reclaim Godly Femininity Part II

Last week I shared with you how my heart had been stirred to find out what Godly femininity really was- that is, what does God, as our Creator, have to say about His female creation? Surely, as our Designer He would have a few things to say to us. (Read Part I here) As a Christian woman, I knew there were certain ways I should conduct myself, but after studying a few scriptures that described femininity as God truly intended it to be (Ephesians 5: 22-24, 1 Timothy 2: 9-15, Titus 2: 3-5, 1 Timothy 5:14, 1 Peter 3: 1-6, Proverbs 31) I was shown by the perfecting light of God’s word how far I was from His original and beautiful design. And why was it I failed to find very many women who I could also look to and say- “Yes, she follows the word of God. She is modest, loving, discreet, gentle and quiet, submissive to her husband- yes that is a Godly and feminine woman.” Although I am blessed to know some lovely Godly women! (And by submissive I just mean living in the order of the family as God made it: Christ the head of the husband, husband the head of his wife. It is not a bad thing! See Ephesians 5:22-33)

I was also shown in His word that God’s standards for maintaining purity in this world are much higher than I realized, but the end result of becoming a Godly woman much more glorious than I could have imagined! I began to have a deep “heart hunger” to reclaim the life of Godly femininity that our society has rejected but God has wondrously and clearly defined in His word, the Bible, and through Jesus given me the power to walk in it. And not only that, but to see other women also throw off all else and eagerly pursue this journey of knowing, understanding and walking in the light of the Biblical definition of what it means to be made female.

There are a lot of things I thought I would write about here in Part II…none of which I am going to do. I realized anything that I wanted to say I could not give justice to in just one or two posts. I thought I would simply leave you with some verses that may inspire you, encourage you, convict you, or just make you think. I pray you continue to study the Bible and allow it to transform you.

“Who can find a virtuous wife? For her worth is far above rubies. The heart of her husband safely trusts her; So he will have no lack of gain. She does him good and not evil all the days of her life.” Proverbs 31: 10-12

“The older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine, teachers of good things- that they admonish the young women to love their husbands, to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, homemakers, good, obedient to their husbands, that they word of God may not be blasphemed.” Titus 2: 3-5

“Wives, likewise, be submissive to your own husbands, that even if some do not obey the word, they, without a word, may be won by the conduct of their wives, when they observe your chaste conduct accompanied by fear.” 1 Peter 3:1-2

“For this is the will of God, your sanctification…that each of you should know how to possess his own vessel in sanctification and honor.”

1 Thessalonians 4:3-4

“And as the bridegroom rejoices over the bride, So shall your God rejoice over you.” Isaiah 62: 5

“So the King will greatly desire your beauty; Because He is your Lord, worship Him.” Psalm 45: 11

[God talking to Jerusalem, but also to us, His beloved] ” ‘You were exceedingly beautiful and succeeded to royalty. Your fame went out among the nations because of your beauty, for it was perfect through My splendor which I had bestowed on you,’ says the Lord God.” Ezekiel 16: 13-14 (emphasis mine. Read all of Ezekiel chapter 16- it is stunning)

There is a radiant vision of womanhood, of femininity that we have lost so much of and now are continuing to lose in this society. I am on a journey to reclaim it- for myself, for my daughter especially, but also for all the women everywhere who don’t yet know how they long to step into this place of rest. This place of Godly femininity.

13 responses to “The Journey to Reclaim Godly Femininity Part II

  1. Um … “The older women likewise, that they be reverent in behavior, not slanderers, not given to much wine … ” Okey dokey, I guess I am not a contender for the title of most Godly femine?

  2. Linda ~ This sounds rather archaic to me. I shall never endeavor to be submissive to my husband.

    Will you?

    • I’ll go further and say that the world would be a far better place if WOMEN, not MEN, were in charge.

      Think about it . . . what do Osama bin Laden, Saddam Hussein, Michael Vick, and others like them have in common? The Y chromosome.

    • Yes I understand your thoughts. I has always been very difficult for me. I wish I could explain how I think it works. Maybe I can just say with a huge grain of salt. I wouldn’t say submissive in the old beaten down trodden upon idea that most people have.

    • I don’t think I am submissive in the way that you are thinking. That has been a fine line for me to walk especially as I have grown up and been through a lot. Remember for me it does not mean the woman should be a doormat. Not at all. It is a careful balance. It takes brains! Not a wimp. And no I don’t wear dresses and such. I actually think they are dangerou nowadays. I have never liked them. Once in a while I wear one but not like you might be thinking. Obviously from some of my posts you know that I am not a typical woman who lets a man run all over her. I think there is a balance in everything.

  3. Linda . . . I disagree with the whole notion of men being the “head” of the family and also disagree that God has some pre-conceived notion of how women “should” act. The Bible was written by MEN to keep WOMEN in their place. I disagree with its archaic notions.

    Here’s a quote from Eat, Pray, Love that sums up my belief:

    So the holy truth of the whole adventure here in India, is in one line: “God dwells within you…as you.”

    God’s not interested in watching a performance of how a spiritual person looks and behaves. The quiet girl who glides silently through the place with a gentle, ethereal smile…who is that person? It’s Ingrid Bergman in “The Bells of St. Mary’s” – not me.

    God dwells within me…as me.

    God isn’t interested in having me be anything other than WHO I am.

  4. I appreciate so much you posting my post Linda! Just thought I would add my two cents here to what we were discussing on my blog as well.

    …There is one thing I know and that is submission (unlike the world will tell you) is an absolutely beautiful- beautiful portrayal of selfless love. True self giving love though, is very hard. We cannot do it without the love of Christ first coming into us, then through us. I still have much to learn about this. Let me just leave you with a verse that describes this type of love, and I’ll leave it at that.

    “Therefore just as the church is subject to Christ, so let the wives be to their own husbands in everything. Husbands love your wives, just as Christ also loved the church and gave Himself for her, that He might sanctify and cleanse her with the washing of water by the word, that He might present her to Himself a glorious church, not having spot or wrinkle or any such thing but that she should be holy and without blemish. So husbands ought to love their own wives as their own bodies…” Ephesians 5: 24-28

    Simply stunning. Doesn’t sound too convenient for the husband does it? It is his job as the head to give himself up and to make sure his wife is set apart, perfect (holy) clean, washed with the word of God so that she has nothing impure about her, so that she can come to him perfectly beautiful! What a job! That is also Christ’s job in our hearts. Is this type of love you see very often? No. This world is broken, but this Love is real, and we have hope because of it.

  5. Pingback: The Journey to Reclaim Godly Femininity Part II | Messages from God: Are they for you?

  6. Pingback: Resources for Ezekiel 16:13 - 14

Comments are welcomed

