Profound Book


I am currently reading, it happened on the way to war, by Rye Barcott. A young man decides that he must and will do something to help the oppressed people in the Kibera slums of Africa. I am so impressed by this young man and all that he was not only able to accomplish, but the fact that at such a young age he had this vision.

I am halfway through but I couldn’t wait to share it with you. I think it is a must read for everyone.

The strange thing is, a fews ago I started reading Say You’re One of Them by Uwem Akpan. I knew that I would not read very far into it because it was going to be terribly sad and overwhelming. I read about the first family and became familiar with life in the slums. It is terrible and heartwrenching. I just peeked at the next part and I am pretty sure that I can not go on reading it. I will however continue reading it happened on the way to war.

2 responses to “Profound Book

  1. You read some heavy hitters, Linda.

    Lately, I’ve been reading nothing but Fluff and Nonsense ~ just a few pages each night before lights out. Thanks for the recommendations.

  2. I read that story given in the link you posted “say you’re one of them”. Really heart rending. Thank you so much for sharing this.

Comments are welcomed

