Wa ter great idea!


This great video from BoingBoing shows how students from MIT developed this light source for the slums of Manila where there is no electric grid. It’s a fabulous idea. I can’t believe no one has thought of this previously. It’s to simple.

I had to try it out for my self and see what it was like. I had a medium-sized box to use for now but as soon as it cools down I intend to try it out in our shed that has no windows. It does have electricity but free is always better if you only need light.

I did some experimenting and found that the water bottle actually worked better than the popular solar garden lights. Then again I guess I should have used more than one solar light.

There are so many ways this could be used to help people or just to save money. I’m also thinking of ways to enhance the idea.

You may also want to read The Gospel of Father Joe by Greg Barrett.  It sheds a lot of light on the plight of the women and children who live in the slums of Manila. A lot of people don’t always have the same choices that we have. I urge you to read this book.

3 responses to “Wa ter great idea!

  1. TheIdiotSpeaketh

    That is pretty cool…. and so simple….. 🙂

  2. That is a shame. I wanted to watch the video but because my Internet connection is slow ..I cannot see it.
    Soda bottle, water and bleach..i shall give that a try and what a very clever cheap idea.

    thank you

  3. Hmm . . . I thought I commented on this when I read it. Guess not.

    If you’re interested:
    http://mangetoutetc.wordpress.com/2011/09/14/lighting-up-peoples-lives/

    I shared a link to your post with her.

Comments are welcomed

