Like A Good Neighbor


I can’t seem to walk out of the house these days without having an animal situation. Last week it was young raccoons, this week stray cats. This evening as I was walking my dog I noticed a black cat running through the parking lot where I was walking. I have seen her about and wondered if she was alright. She isn’t alone that’s for sure. She has two little kittens with her but one of the babies had a clear plastic cup stuck on its head! Oh dear me why do I always have to see this stuff?!

I ran back home and put my dog in the house then called my friend and like a good neighbor he came to help. He always does. He got a pair of thick work gloves and we found the kitten in the shrubbery but it wouldn’t let us near it. So hopefully by running through the shrubs and turning around and about the cup will fall off. Thank God it’s not a bottle as I thought in the beginning or it would be bad news for the poor helpless kitten.

As for me I think I will get a treadmill and stay inside.

3 responses to “Like A Good Neighbor

  1. I just read about a bear cub that had a bottle stuck over its head ~ it couldn’t eat or drink. The mother had to be tranquilized so that rescue personnel could remove the bottle.

    I hope the kitten is able to eat and drink with the cup cap on its head.

    • That is exactly what I was thinking about when I saw this poor little one. Since it was black it looked just a like a tiny little bear. And it was walking a little wobbly because of the cup. Oh it broke my heart to see it. I am sure the mother and sibling will come back to it and it will manage to scratch the cup off.

    • I hope you’re right.

      Keep your eyes peeled and see if you can’t help the little black “bear” out of his “dunce cap.”

      ~ the dunce being the person who littered in the first place.

Comments are welcomed

