Old Post Card


I just discovered this in one of my piles of “stuff”. I think I purchased about twenty years ago. It has a date of 1908 on it. I can not however read all of the writing on the back.

7 responses to “Old Post Card

  1. I’m not sure what Charles’ wife’s name is – looks like it could be any of the following: Messire, Messure, Messine, Messure, Messire. Hmmm. The dot over an “i” is there, but it’s hard to tell what letter it should be over, or maybe it’s just a stray ink mark!

    It is addressed to: Miss Amelia D. Lowe, or Miss Amelia DeLowe, or Miss Amelia D. Losse (looks like an attempt at a correction was made. But whoever, she lived on Orchard Street in Cloversville, NY.

    I don’t know if you are old enough to remember, but it used to be acceptable that if you mailed something to someone in the same city in which you mailed it, you only had to write “City.”

  2. Wow Paula you are a regular detective! I had no idea about the city thing, I wondered about that. Very interesting. Thank you.

  3. I love the postcard and wish we still sent out more “snail mail”. Makes you wonder what their life was like in 1908.

  4. Great image for the New Year . . . letting go of the shore to explore new horizons! :D

  5. Happy New Year. Let’ do it together in the blogosphere…

  6. love everything vintage… :)

Comments are welcomed

